Skip to content

the barefoot girl promotional image

October 16, 2006

larger version

Towards the end of August, I switched gears from the comic to the promotion of it. I went to the big-honkin’ toronto comics expo, renamed fan expo , sharing a table between fellow comics compatriots Rosemary and Craig. I had originally planned to make the fan expo the debut of the comic (once again jumping the gun), however, when it became clear that wasn’t going to happen I decided to create a little promo poster to sell and raise interest.

And lo’ and behold, the interest was raised.

There really wasn’t too much to the process of making it, other then drawing it out pretty tight and then colouring it very simply in on photoshop. It likely won’t show up on the internets, but I left things pretty rough at parts, even leaving in the grain the pages and some of the exploratory marks – I kind of like a little stank left in my drawing.Working in this way opened up some ideas on how I should go about my illustration work, so I’ll be exploring that elsewhere.

The second image you see was a pretty important stage as it allowed me to block out the tones. The darker colours are in the foreground and the buildings further away progressively become lighter towards the back. I also knew that the ghosts needed to be the big stand out, so I figured that all out at this stage.

larger versions : 1 2 3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2006 6:17 am

    ah haro.

    i like your stages thing, it’s cool. i’m having fun reading about your summer. nice poster, can i buy one?

    ps: coloured graphite is sick.

  2. Simon permalink
    November 9, 2006 6:01 am

    Oh Ho~
    I love your stages thing. very cool.

Trackbacks

  1. Reading Week : The Test of Champions «

Leave a Reply

