Skip to content

Heavy Lifting

May 30, 2008


Grow – 8″x11″ mixed media on paper

These past few weeks I’ve been working on a series that will be shown over the course of two gallery shows. In the past, I might have continued a theme in a series of three, this time the work will extend to ten or more pieces.

On an unrelated note, I should distribute props to a few people first. Artist-a-Day did a little diddy on me last week, which is actually quite a splendid site. Second, Brad over at Secret Still also mentioned me, which is really a rather fantastic blog. Do your part for freedom and check both sites out. Thanks to both, you are the bees knees.

Now, onto more pretty pictures, after the break…



Heavy Zen – 11″x3o” mixed media on paper
click to view full size


Heavy Zen (detail)

The genesis for this series was ‘risk vs reward’ which turned into an exploration of meditation and self discovery. The old feller we see here is based on my Grandfather (or Lolo, for those in the know). For these first pieces, I wanted to look at calming forces, when I think about Lolo, I get the impression of calmness, like rock gardens or the act of drawing itself.

In the future you can look forward to more long pieces like Heavy Zen, starring our little elderly friend. He’ll be going through lots of adventures and hopefully discovering something valuable about himself along the way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 5:21 pm

    Haha, I’ll never tire of your monsters.

    There’s something wonderfully serene about everything you produce these days. Reflection of mental state?

  2. June 1, 2008 7:47 pm

    Irma! Thanks a bunch.

    Regarding serenity now and my mental state: The truth is sometimes I feel like my heart and brain are on fire – beating wildly and thinking far too much. Drawing for me, these days, is kind of like yoga but bad posture .

Leave a comment