Skip to content

salty ancients

June 25, 2008


salty ancients: 11″x30″ mixed media. click to view large

Here’s the latest in our continuing adventures of an old man, based loosely on my grand pappy. In a bit of cosmic alignment, I found out that Lolo’s birthday is this weekend, and here I am doing an entire body of work inspired by him.

I learned a lot from my last long format piece, this time I wanted the space to be used better, and have a good sense of movement throughout the image. I also wanted to take advantage of this larger size by going to town on the details, as well as providing a epic sense of scale.

As I continue throughout this series, the original themes I set out to explore become increasingly more clear. My original inspiration in doing these long pieces, was to convey a sense of adventure, not unlike the unfolding progress of a world 1-1. I realized quickly that having a person move left to right didn’t seem to strike the correct mood – so now we have the old man tending to a rock garden amidst giants, or in this, fishing on turbulent waters. I like the tension this creates, the outside world filled with adventure and mystery, versus the stillness and the personal journey that people take.

He also now has a little old dog friend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2008 10:42 am

    i really love this!!!! I wish I could have one! 😀

  2. July 3, 2008 8:03 pm

    Thanks Mall!

Leave a Reply

