Skip to content

pick and choose the best one

July 29, 2008

the line up - for kronos inc.

While producing gallery work is currently the main focus of my career, I still manage to do commercial projects, and thankfully with increasing regularity.

Just what exactly is this illustration for?

Wouldn’t you like to know…and you will! Right now! After the jump…

The image above is a part of an ad for Kronos, a workforce management organization. It ran in Fortune Magazine, and was later printed again in a conference book. I was pretty thrilled to be included in a project that had such a high degree of visibility, and the fact that the process went along smoothly made it even better.

I’d like to thank the AD, Nic, for facilitating the aforementioned smoothness, and generally being a pleasure to work with. Nic handed me the basic concept, a line up of kids being chosen to play baseball, since Kronos is all about finding the best person for the job. I was then able to add flourishes, I’m especially fond of the little runt on the right and the kid blowing bubbles on the left.

After puzzling around with the underlying themes and concepts of my personal work, it’s nice to do a project like this which is a bit more straight forward. I had a lot of fun with this, like playing baseball on a hot summer’s day. Thanks Nic.

ps: if you don’t recognize the title of this post, obviously you haven’t played enough Street Fighter III.

pps: speaking of Street Fighter, did you know that my dear chum Chad Covino is in the Street Fighter Anniversary Art book produced by UDON? Along with equally cool people Charlene Chua and Cameron Stuart? Find out more here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 2:47 pm

    Rey, you never stop amazing me, I love the characterization of these folks.

  2. July 29, 2008 4:11 pm

    aaaah so this is the piece you did in Fortune. I really like the color palette. Which kid were you growing up?
    Thanks for the shout out! I should be getting my copy of the book by the end of August…I think?

  3. July 29, 2008 5:50 pm

    Alexei : thanks dude – i had fun coming up with the different kids

    Chad : I was the kid outside of the frame playing original gameboy

    I’ll have to check out the book myself, so many of my fav. artists and our peers are in. plus it’s street fighter, oooo aaaaa ooo aaaaa

  4. August 1, 2008 4:30 pm

    nice, i remember the title..when they say that in street fighter..haha

    btw, great illustration.

  5. August 1, 2008 7:53 pm

    Thanks Peter!

    wasn’t that such a weird song? lordy, can’t wait till IV

  6. August 13, 2008 12:20 pm

    I love this, Rey. I haven’t been checking in as much as I should, but I’m glad to see you getting some commercial work!

  7. August 13, 2008 6:00 pm

    Heya Joel, thanks a megaton.

    Believe me, I’m glad to see me get commercial work too, haha.

Leave a Reply

