Skip to content

my own marathon

August 16, 2008

Marathon Painting sessions will never be an Olympic event, but that isn’t stopping me from working diligently every day in preparation for two upcoming gallery shows…

Made in Canada @ Bear & Bird Gallery, Fort Lauderhil Florida.

Amanda Magnetta over at Bear & Bird has put together a pretty slick collection of Canadian artists to kick off a series of Made In X gallery exhibits. I’m honored that she would consider me to be a part of this sampling of Canadian talent, and it’s my pleasure to be amongst such fantastic folks, including Dave Barnes, Lori Joy Smith, Jason Pultz , my buddly ol’ pal Rosemary Travale.

The deets:

Opening Night Reception: Saturday, September 6 from 7-10pm
Show runs through October 11, 2008
Bear and Bird
4566 North University Drive
Lauderhill, Florida 33351


And here’s the best bit, taken from the site:

Join us for an evening of complimentary wine and cheese,
plus a special treat of freshly spun maple cotton candy!

So come for the free cheese, stay for the art! In my case, its own brand of cheese, haha.

SpeakEasy’s Illustration Show @ The Gladstone Hotel, Toronto, Ontario

Earlier this summer I sent out my application for David Brown’s SpeakEasy Drawing and Painting show, fancying myself more a ‘Drawer of Things’ rather than an Illustrator. David promptly replied saying he’d love to have me in the Illustration show, and, being the fluid concept that I am, said OK.

So here we are, days after receiving my acceptance to the show, and here you are, with the details:

Thursday September 4th
8pm-Midnight
The Gladstone Hotel
1214 Queen West, Toronto
“Pay What You Can”

There will be some familiar names that regular readers will recognize, taking part in the show, it’s going to be the biggest SpeakEasy Illustration Show yet!

I’m really excited to be in both, and I’d like to thank David and Amanda for making this happen!

BONUS ROUND: In the interest of spreading the love – this weekend the Square Foot Show (now in it’s sixth edition) will transpire. I believe that a metric ton of Sheridenizen’s will be participating in it, so much that you could call it HEADlines 2.5. Details here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 7:29 am

    Can’t wait to see your work in person. I’ll be there!
    Congrats – danielle

Trackbacks

  1. Goodbye Summer «

Leave a Reply

