Skip to content

Goodbye Summer

September 29, 2008

You were a good one, see you next year.

hidden robot

hidden robot

Since I’m severely behind on my blogging duties, this post will now be a big summer recap. After the jump – new art, show pictures and commentary galore.

my wall at the Bear and Bird

my wall at the Bear and Bird

Made in Canada

Earlier this month I participated in two gallery shows. The image above is a snap of my wall from Bear & Bird Gallery’s Made in Canada Show. Here’s a few more, including Rosemary’s awesome set up!

rusty robot study

You can check out a bunch of gallery pics at B & B‘s flickr – and you can also view all the available art work here.  The show remains up until October 11th, so please check it out if you are in the area!

Bonus Fact: A couple of the artist’s (myself included) did a little interview with Metromix, and the show was mentioned in Hi-Fructose both in magazine form and on its blog! Thanks again Amanda for inviting me to be a part of this excellent show!

SpeakEasy’s Illustration Show

Meanwhile in the frozen north, the Gladstone Hotel played host to SpeakEasy’s 13th Annual Illustration show.

Chaos Centipede

Chaos Centipede 21" x 16"

I started to feel like I was tightening up with my stuff, especially after working on very detail-oriented illustrations, so for these pieces I wanted to loosen up. These are ricepaper paintings mounted on wood. Usually I like to spend a little time figuring out an interesting image or idea before working on the final, this time around I pretty much started painting without knowing how it was going to turn out in the end.

Here are two more pieces made special for SpeakEasy:

Beware of Castle Bleak-Skull

Beware of Castle Bleak-Skull 10" x 12"

Himalayan Yeti Rescue Initiative

Himalayan Yeti Rescue Initiative 12" x 16"

The show itself was a fun night. I got to hang out with Charlene and Wayne for a bit, as well as seeing Alexei, Rosemary,Craig, Juan and the gang. Any chance to see friends is always a special treat, usually I’m cooped up in my studio working in monk-like solitude. Special thanks goes out to Eshwin who helped me get through the day without incident.

It was cool to have my work displayed in the Gladstone Hotel and I owe David Brown my gratitude for the opportunity.

That pretty much wraps up the summer recap! Somewhere inbetween I finished off a large illustration project and I had a chance to have a bit of relaxation/fun, too. Now that it’s fall, a lot of my friends are back at school in their final year, so I’m wishing you all the best! I’ll be hitting the drawing table and easles in a hard way with new shows before the year’s end, I’m really excited.

bye!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2009 3:11 am

    The linework is especially nice in this, the way it breaks and varies. Nice jorb!

Leave a Reply

