Skip to content

Winnie the Crustacean

November 7, 2008

lobster fun

lobster fun

Here’s a little commission that I cooked up for a cool couple in Boston, Massacheusetts.  I was asked to make a  piece featuring a girl and a lobster  (something of a totem for them) to commemorate a special birthday. I enjoyed working on this and I’d like to say hello and thank you to both Max and Julia for this opportunity.

Hello! Thank You!

BONUS FACT: It occurred to me  after finishing this, that I owe a lot to my favourite blanket as a kid, check it out:

I hope my warm feelings transferred to the work!

♪ la la lalalala laaaaa ♪

I had forgotten this blanket long ago, but I was so happy to see it again once I pulled it out of the closet!  Sometimes I feel like I’m an archaeologist exploring the dusty parts of my memory. Instead of unearthing ancient relics or priceless artifacts, I’m digging up lost feelings of warmth and love. I hope those warm feelings from my own childhood are in my work!

While we’re celebrating birthdays, my next blog post is going to be  a little special too, stay tuned please!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 6:38 pm

    Dude, this is mad fresh! Why isn’t this on flickr?

  2. November 17, 2008 10:41 pm

    thanks! Actually, I don’t really know why it isn’t, I should throw it up there sometime soon

  3. March 1, 2009 3:13 am

    ah crap I misplaced my comment for this piec eon goodbye summer … I said ‘the linework is mad sexy, the way it varies, etc.’

    I feel as if my sentiment has lost its momentum now. Anyways, great work.

  4. March 1, 2009 3:15 am

    Oh also I had a similar experience, with a Mickey Mouse blanket. I always struggle with the eyes on my women, they always look so bloody cartoony, and slightly whorish, then I found this blanket with Daisy and Minnie, with their respective boyfriends, and basically instead of having breasts or vaginas, in Disney Universe, women just have really exaggerated eyelashes. Just like a good hooker!

Leave a Reply

