Skip to content

The Ancient Age

May 5, 2009

adjust-ancient01

This past weekend was Free Comic Book Day, it’s kind of like Easter and Halloween wrapped up in a big Christmas bow.

In the spirit of free stuff, Wide Awake Press has released an epic collection of historical and mythological themed comics called, ” The Ancient Age”.

J Chris Campbell was nice enough to invite me to not only contribute a story but also help out with the cover, the result of which you can see above you. I did the big rooty tree at the bottom, and Bernie Gonzalez is rockin’ the warriors up top. The digital comic weighs in at a hefty 90+ pages (that is, if digital comics weighed anything), all of it filled with great comics talent. Thanks J Chris for letting me get in on the fun.

The cover piece and my story revolve around Angkor Wat in Cambodia, a place that I intend to visit someday. I’ve been fascinated with Angkor Watt for sometime now, but I think it started with Illusion of Gaia, a video game that featured the ancient temple as a stage. I got that game as a kid and ever since then I’ve associated ancient civilizations with crazy adventures, a theme that I think informs my work today. I’ll have to go into the details of making the comic at a later date, but for now, enjoy!

For those of you who want to zip to my contribution, you can check it out here, although I seriously recommend you check out the whole thing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 11:46 am

    Hey, that’s really bloody sweet! Though, the link is currently not working.

    I also remember playing illusion of Gaia and having an unusual fascination with the historical landmarks in it (despite their, shall we say, inaccurate portrayal).

    Hell, it’s still with me. Something about mysterious, crumbly ruins. Oh ho.

    That whole garden, in the sky, with the upside down side? What I wouldn’t give to have that place exist in real life.

  2. May 6, 2009 8:44 pm

    Yikes, the site is getting slammed I guess.

    I don’t remember much about the game – other than the stages – the garden you speak of doesn’t ring a bell. There was a pig, maybe? Also there was a slightly unsettling quality to the game, especially when you died.

    Overall it wasn’t exactly a Zelda quality game. Still, Gaia has it’s small pocket of fans and I’m glad I’m not the only one that feels this way about it!

  3. May 16, 2009 1:50 pm

    Yay! It looks fantastic 🙂

  4. May 24, 2009 1:54 pm

    Hey Rey! It looks great.
    I love the cover work!!

  5. May 24, 2009 6:43 pm

    Heya Veronica, Yuta, thanks a bunch!

    I’m in the middle of making more comics, although its a very slow process for me, it’s also something that is really satisfying when complete.

  6. Chris Coles permalink
    May 25, 2009 11:59 pm

    That turtle! Siiiiick! Really nice cover work too. Now I have to look up Angkor Watt. (Shameful?)

  7. June 14, 2009 11:43 am

    Chris! I like that turtle too. All I could think about while drawing it was, “man, I could draw turtles all day!”

    Angkor Watt is a really interesting place, doing a little 5 page comic is a great disservice too its rich history and meaning. I’d love to revisit it in a story some day and also the real place.

Leave a Reply

