Skip to content

Juxtapoz artist profile

August 8, 2009

exciting!

juxfeature3

If you pick up this month’s issue of Juxtapoz (#103), you can find a little artist profile about me.

Here’s my little blurb, which was kind of agonizing to write because that sort of thing makes me nervous:

“Maybe it’s my daily caffeine intake or I was just born like this, but I think about things a lot.

My mind buzzes with a million thoughts, stuff like love, taxes, or lunch,sometimes to the point of incapacitation. Art is a kind of meditation for me, where I take all that chaos and distill it into images.

When I’ve got a pencil and paper, it’s one of the few places where I feel I can calm my brain and heart.

Even though I draw weird monsters and such, I feel like my works are deeply personal, even embarrassingly so. I’m always happy to learn that viewers find something in an image that they can connect with, even if a piece might be obscurely personal.

I hope it speaks to something universal for  everyone.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. James Provost permalink
    August 8, 2009 4:57 pm

    Good show, old bean.

    Little known fact, Love, Taxes and Lunch was J.D. Salinger’s original title for Catcher in the Rye.

  2. August 8, 2009 6:21 pm

    If I ever get on Who Wants to Be a Millionaire , you’re my life-line.

  3. August 12, 2009 10:36 pm

    WoooooWWWW!!! That’s exciting!!!

  4. August 13, 2009 7:19 am

    how exciting? 4 extra “o’s” and 4 extra capital “W’s” exciting.

    Thanks Yuta 🙂

  5. Sharon Leano Kanz permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:07 pm

    Great job!!! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

