Skip to content

Fecal Face mini-interview

June 4, 2008


monster concept

I did a little interview with Fecal Face which you can read here. Over the past year, I’ve become a regular visitor of the site, without it I wouldn’t have been introduced to so many fantastic artists. So I’m really excited to be a part of such a wonderful resource. Thanks John, you’re a hero.

Here is a little excerpt:

Worst and best thing ever?!

The best thing ever is Star Trek: The Next Generation, the worst thing ever is Star Trek: Voyager.

There, I said it. Deal with it, Kate Mulgrew.

More thoughts, and sketchbook excerpt, after the break…

rough concepts for the oldman

Looking at some of the stuff I’ve been working on, I think the Henson influence is really starting to come through (as mentioned in the interview), and I’m loving it. Incedentally, you might notice that the front page note says that my work reminds John of a Tessar Lo and Brendan Monroe fusion, so I guess that makes me Bressan Monloe, which I think is both disturbing and funny, distfunnbingy.

Now that I’ve done a few of these interviews, I wanted to say how nerve wracking these things can be at times. I’m not a big fan of chatting online these days, and I feel like I can better express myself either through the art itself or just chatting in person. That being said, I understand how important it is to be able to discuss your work, what it means, and why it’s important, as embarrassing as that can get at times.

For anyone keeping track, I put in little secret shout-outs in these interviews. Last time I mentioned Pho, and in this I bring up Star Trek, just for youze guyz.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 3:10 pm

    hey rey, saw that yesterday and was waiting for the post to comment. it’s really funny that john mentioned us as having a similar thing going on- it must be the hours upon hours in the fourth year room. another odd thing is that i was just spending some time looking through brendan’s site- which is in essence, admiring your work…. partially?

    whatever, the point is- great to see all the new work and congrats on all the love lately..

  2. June 4, 2008 3:48 pm

    Hey thanks guy:-)

    well they say singing is like praying twice, so looking at brendan’s work is like looking at my stuff x4000%.

    I remember Harvey and Blair mentioned something similar about us, although I think it had to do more with some kind of underlying philosophy rather than anything else. Maybe Blair just got the two asians mixed up.

  3. June 5, 2008 11:38 am

    Congrats on the E-Love of your work!!!

    ..and voyager isnt THAT BAD!

  4. June 5, 2008 12:06 pm

    Juan! thanks,

    and it kinda was, for me at least.

    Star Trek: TNG > Star Trek > Star Trek: DS9 > Enterprise > Star Trek the Animated Series > Star Trek: Voyager

  5. June 8, 2008 8:01 pm

    Is that a Moleskin watercolor pad you’re working with? The dimensions seem to fit the bill.

  6. June 8, 2008 8:13 pm

    Hey Chad, it isn’t a Moleskin although it is quite similar, I guess.

Leave a comment